Freightliner LLC Names 2003 Masters of Quality

Annual Award is Highest Distinction Given to Company’s Suppliers

PORTLAND, OREGON…Freightliner LLC has named its 2003 Masters of Quality. The annual recognition goes to companies who meet the highest standards of quality in providing parts and components for Freightliner, Sterling, Western Star, American LaFrance and Thomas Built Buses vehicles. It is the highest distinction given to Freightliner LLC suppliers.

“In our belief, Freightliner’s Masters of Quality award recipients represent the finest of the supply base serving the North American commercial vehicle manufacturing industry,” said Roger Nielsen, Chief Operating Officer for Freightliner LLC. “These companies have been instrumental in helping us deliver quality products to our customers in the past year.”

A total of 40 suppliers and 62 individual facilities were recognized as Freightliner LLC Masters of Quality for 2003. Recipients of the award must demonstrate exceptional results in delivering quality parts and components and display an ongoing commitment to quality improvement. Award winners must meet stringent criteria related to quality assurance, service, aftermarket parts, materials, engineering, warranty and purchasing. This is the 16th year of the Masters of Quality program.

The 2003 Masters of Quality manufacture everything from anti-lock brake systems to power steering components to aluminum wheels. They are located across the NAFTA region.

In 2003, the Consolidated Metco Inc. plant in Monroe, N.C., was recognized for the 13th time, making the plant the most frequent recipient of the Masters of Quality award. Thirty-nine supplier locations were identified as multiple year recipients, and twenty-three supplier locations were recognized for the first time. Since its introduction in 1987, no supplier has received a Masters of Quality award in every year of the program.

“The criteria to become a Master of Quality is quite rigorous and the bar continues to be raised every year, so it’s an impressive achievement to win multiple years,” said Paul Romanaggi, General Manager of Quality for Freightliner LLC.

He added, “We were especially pleased to see so many first-time recipients among the 2003 Masters of Quality.”

The 2003 Masters of Quality award recipients are as follows:

Thirteenth Year Recipient

Consolidated Metco Inc.

Monroe, N.C.

Twelfth Year Recipient    

Paramount Bedding Inc.

Damascus, Ore.

Eleventh Year Recipient

Consolidated Metco Inc. - Clackamas Plant

Clackamas, Ore.    

Ninth Year Recipients

Accuride Corporation

Henderson, Ky.

Accuride Corporation

London, Ont. Canada

Consolidated Metal Products Inc.

Cincinnati, Ohio    

Horton Industries Inc.

Britton, S.D.

Marine Plastics Ltd.

Langley, B.C. Canada

MGM Brakes Inc.

Murphy, N.C.

Eighth Year Recipients

Consolidated Metco Inc.

Portland, Ore.

Flexalloy, Inc.

St Thomas, Ont. Canada

Julian Electric Inc.

Westmont, Ill.

MGM Brakes Inc.

Cloverdale, Calif.

Seventh Year Recipient

Flexalloy, Inc.

Charlotte, N.C.

Sixth Year Recipients

Lord Corporation - Industrial Products Division

Cambridge Springs, Pa.

Lord Corporation - Industrial Products Division

Bowling Green, Ky.

Sapa Anodizing Inc.

Portland, Ore.

Fifth Year Recipients

Behr Climate Systems, Inc.

Ft. Worth, Texas

East Penn Manufacturing Inc.

Lyon Station, Pa.

TRW Inc. - Ross Gear Division Lebanon, Tenn.

Fourth Year Recipients

Behr Heat Transfer Systems, Inc.

Canton, S.C.

Parker Hannifin Corp. – Parflex Division

Ravenna, Ohio

Third Year Recipients

Bostrom Seating Inc.    

Piedmont, Ala.

Grakon International Inc.

Seattle, Wash.

Standard Register

Radcliff, Ky.

TRW Inc. – Ross Gear Division

Lafayette, Ind.

Second Year Recipients

Boyd Corporation

Portland, Ore.

Delco Remy Mexico

San Luis Potosi, Mexico

Delphi Automotive Packard Electric

Duncan, S.C.

Consolidated Metco Simplex

Monroe, N.C.

Eaton Clutch Division

Auburn, Ind.

Flexalloy, Inc.

Toluca, Mexico

Grote Manufacturing Co.

Madison, Ind.

Haldex Corporation Grain Valley, Mo.

Indiana Mills & Manufacturing Inc.

Westfield, Ind.

Kaso Plastics Inc.

Vancouver, Wash.

Molded Fiber Glass Company – Cleveland

Ashtabula, Ohio

Parker Hannifin Corp. – Racor Division

Modesto, Calif.

TRW Inc. – Ross Gear

Portland, Mich.

First Year Recipients

AEARO Company

Newark, Del.

Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems

Urbana, Ohio

Betts Spring Company Inc.

Fresno, Calif.

Boyd Corporation – Gaffney

Gaffney, S.C.

Delphi Delco Electronics

Matamores, Tamaulitas Mexico

E-A-R Specialty Composites Corp.

Indianapolis, Ind.

Eaton Corp. Aerospace & Commercial Control

Selma, N.C.

E.R. Wagner Manuf. Co. – Engineered Products Div.

Milwaukee, Wis.

Flambeau Inc.

Madison, Ga.

Fontaine Fifth Wheel Company

Birmingham, Ala.

Fontaine Fifth Wheel Company

Reno, Nev.

Fontaine Fifth Wheel of Canada

Mississauga, Ont. Canada


Monclova, COAH Mexico

Mayflower Vehicle Systems Inc.

South Charleston, W.V.

Meridian Automotive Systems Inc.

Lenoir, N.C.

Meritor Wabco Vehicle Control Systems

Hebron, Ky.

Molded Fiber Glass Company – Northwest

Stevenson, Wash.

Molded Fiber Glass – North Carolina

Morgantown, N.C.

Progressive Metal Manuf. Inc.

Ferndale, Mich.

SAPA Anodizing Inc. - Parts Div.

Portland, Ore.

Sure Fit Metal Products Inc.

Livonia, Mich.

Thermal Dynamics Corp.

Ontario, Calif.

TRW Sistemas De Direciaones S.A DE C.V.

El Marques, Queretaro Mexico

The 2003 Freightliner Masters of Quality award recipients were honored at a

banquet in Portland, Ore., last month.

During his remarks at the event, Freightliner COO Nielsen thanked the suppliers for their outstanding efforts. “We know that achieving and sustaining this level of performance requires an exceptional effort on the part of many people in your companies, everyone from engineers to marketing staff to service and warranty people,” Nielsen told the Masters of Quality. “We thank you for focus and hard work.”

Freightliner LLC, headquartered in Portland, Oregon is the leading heavy-duty truck manufacturer in North America. Freightliner produces and markets Class 3-8 vehicles under the Freightliner, Sterling, Western Star, American LaFrance, and Thomas Built Buses nameplates. Freightliner is a company of DaimlerChrysler, the world’s leading commercial vehicle manufacturer.

Related Press Releases