Freightliner LLC Recognizes 29 Masters of Quality

Freightliner LLC has recognized 29 North American manufacturers from the United States and Canada as recipients of Freightliner's Masters of Quality supplier quality award for 2000. The suppliers provide top-quality components for trucks bearing the Freightliner, Sterling, Western Star and American LaFrance nameplates. Winners were recognized at a February 21 banquet in Portland in which Freightliner President Jim Hebe lauded the efforts of the supply chain that supports the company's manufacturing process.

"The levels of excellence that our best suppliers maintain across their product lines help Freightliner LLC provide the consistent quality trucks that our customers expect," Hebe said. "To a great degree, we rely on the contributions of our suppliers to be successful in our business. The work done by our Masters of Quality award winners goes a long way to ensuring our success, and more importantly, the success of the fleets and owner-operators who keep us all in business."

The quality award was presented to manufacturers in 15 states and two Canadian provinces. The 14-year-old program recognizes suppliers who meet or exceed Freightliner's stringent quality standards and demonstrate an ongoing commitment to improving the quality of their products.

In his keynote address, Hebe thanked the suppliers for their work and discussed the current downturn in North America's economy and its impact on the truck markets. He also asked the suppliers to work in partnership with Freightliner to help the company meet its goals despite the soft market conditions. General Manager of Materials and Purchasing Brian Mooers and Director of Quality Ron Bush also addressed the group.

Four suppliers in North Carolina and three in South Carolina made the list, an indication of Freightliner's economic impact in the Carolinas, where Freightliner LLC has four of its seven truck and parts manufacturing plants. Oregon, the birthplace of Freightliner more than 50 years ago, was represented by four award winners. Seven manufacturers received the award for the first time. There were 22 repeat winners. Since its introduction in 1987, no supplier has won a Master of Quality award every year of the program.

Topping the list was Consolidated MetCo Inc. and its wheel hub plant in Monroe, North Carolina. The ConMet facility is the first supplier to win the award for 11 years. Paramount Vedding Inc. of Damascus, Oregon, won the award for the tenth year. Paramount supplies mattresses for the sleeper units in Freightliner and Sterling trucks.

"The quality of these companies' components is evident, and it's one of the reasons Freightliner and its subsidiaries are the leading truck manufacturers in North America today," Hebe said.

The complete list of Masters of Quality award winners is as follows:

Eleven-year recipient

  • Consolidated MetCo Inc., Monroe, North Carolina

  • Ten-year recipient

  • Paramount Bedding Inc., Damascus, Oregon

  • Nine-year recipients

  • Precision Printers Inc., Grass Valley, California

  • Consolidated MetCo Inc., Clackamas, Oregon

  • Eight-year recipients

  • Sears Manufacturing Company, Davenport, Iowa

  • Marine Plastics Ltd., Langley, British Columbia

  • Seven-year recipients

  • Flexalloy Inc., Portland, Oregon

  • Michelin Tire Corporation, Greenville, South Carolina

  • Consolidated Metal Products Inc., Cincinnati, Ohio

  • Six-year recipients

  • Flexalloy Inc., St. Thomas, Ontario

  • Julian Electric Inc., Westmont, Illinois

  • Five-year recipients

  • Flexalloy Inc., Charlotte, North Carolina

  • Worthington Steel Company, Catawba, South Carolina

  • Four-year recipients

  • Lord Corporation, Mechanical Products Division, Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania

  • Lord Corporation, Mechanical Products Division, Bowling Green, Kentucky

  • Three-year recipients

  • Wayne Steel Inc., Randleman, North Carolina

  • Thysssen Steel Group, Richburg, South Carolina

  • Reynolds Aluminum Supply Company, Charlotte, North Carolina

  • Webb Enterprises Inc., East Fargo, North Dakota

  • TRW Inc. Ross Gear, Lebanon, Tennessee

  • East Penn Manufacturing Inc., Lyon Station, Pennsylvania

  • Two-year recipient

  • Grakon International Inc., Seattle, Washington

  • First-year recipients

  • Parker Hannifin Corporation, Racor Division, Modesto, California

  • Parker Hannifin Corporation, Brass Products Division, Portland, Oregon

  • Standard Register, Radcliff, Kentucky

  • Tifton Aluminum Company, Tifton, Georgia

  • TRW Inc. Ross Gear, Portland, Michigan

  • Parker Hannifin Corporation, Refrigeration/Air Conditioning Division, Lyons, New York

  • Hadley Products Corporation, Grandville, Michigan
  • Related Press Releases