Freightliner Trucks’ Run Smart Hauler Challenge Comes to a Fast Finale at Charlotte Motor Speedway


Concord, N.C. – Oct. 29, 2014 – The Freightliner Trucks Run Smart™ Hauler Challenge raced to the season finale on Oct. 10, 2014 at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, N.C., where Greg Sorber, driver of the #22 Shell/Pennzoil Ford Fusion for Joey Logano and Team Penske, took home the grand prize and Freightliner Trucks trophy.

Freightliner Trucks, the Official Hauler of NASCAR®, has been holding this competition since 2006 to challenge the abilities of NASCAR team hauler drivers. The driver that most skillfully navigates the turns and obstacles of the finale course is crowned the winner and recognized as the year’s hauler champion.

The intense competition of the 2014 season delivered an exhilarating finish at the Hauler Challenge finale. The final four drivers, #2 Michael “Bama” Williams and #22, Greg Sorber, drivers for Team Penske, Joe Gibbs Racing’s #18 driver, Bob Hannigan, and Stewart-Haas Racing’s #10 driver Rocky Boggs, showcased the skill and determination of every driver.

“The truck drivers in NASCAR are some of the hardest working people in the sport and Freightliner Trucks takes great pride in rewarding their dedication through our competition every year.” said Stacey Premo, motorsports marketing manager for Freightliner Trucks. “Congratulations to Greg Sorber for winning the Freightliner Trucks trophy and all of the drivers who competed so closely throughout the season.”

For more information on Freightliner Trucks and to order Official Hauler of NASCAR merchandise, go to

Freightliner Trucks is a division of Daimler Trucks North America LLC, headquartered in Portland, Oregon, and is the leading heavy-duty truck manufacturer in North America. Daimler Trucks North America produces and markets Class 4-8 tucks and is a Daimler company, the world’s leading commercial vehicle manufacturer.

NASCAR® is a registered trademark of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. 

Related Press Releases